Pick a flavour.
Every crisp sits on one flavour shelf, so the salt and vinegar people and the cheese and onion people never have to meet.
Start with the crunch.
How a crisp is made is what you hear when you bite. The crunch score is ours, from the cut and the cooking: 1 is a soft puff, 5 is a hand cooked bag that bites back.
Grab a bag, or three.
Only 122 of our 318 start as a slice of potato.
The rest begin as potato flakes, corn, wheat, lentils, peas or cassava. Each dot below is one crisp in the range, coloured by the first ingredient on its label.
- 122A slice of potato
- 67Potato flakes, starch or dried potato
- 61Corn
- 36Wheat, oats and other cereals
- 22Lentils, peas, chickpeas and beans
- 7Cassava and tapioca
- 3Not stated on the label
Counted from the 318 label records behind the range: the first ingredient, the cooking the label or the name gives, the country of origin, the oils and the recycling line. Where a label does not say, we count it as not stated.
Three questions. One crisp.
Not sure what you are in the mood for? Answer three quick questions and the finder picks the crisps that fit.
Start the finder →- Question 1Which flavour?The one you reach for first.
- Question 2What sort of crunch?Thin and light, or proper hard crunch.
- Question 3What size of bag?One for you, or one for the table.
Two hundred years of crunch.
From a London cookbook in 1817 to a court case about a tube. Every date here is checked, and the source is linked on each card.
- 1817 The first known recipe William Kitchiner's cookbook The Cook's Oracle, published in London, gives a recipe for potatoes fried in slices or shavings. Source: Potato chip
- 1853 A good story, not history The tale of a chef at Saratoga Springs inventing the crisp to annoy a fussy diner is a myth. Historians have found too many holes in it. Source: Potato chip
- 1920 Salt in a twist Frank Smith starts Smiths Potato Crisps and sells them around London in greaseproof bags, with a twist of salt to add yourself. Source: Potato chip
- 1945 Seabrook, Bradford Charles Brook starts making crisps in Bradford. Seabrook still makes them there, mostly from potatoes grown within 50 miles. Source: Seabrook Potato Crisps
- 1947 Golden Wonder William Alexander founds Golden Wonder near Edinburgh. Source: Golden Wonder
- 1948 A butcher in Leicester With meat still rationed after the war, the Walker family's butcher's shop turns to frying potatoes, and Walkers begins. Source: Walkers
- 1954 Flavour arrives At Tayto in Ireland, Joe "Spud" Murphy and Seamus Burke work out how to season a crisp. The first flavour is cheese and onion. Source: Potato chip
- 1956 The crisp castle Tayto Northern Ireland starts in Tandragee, County Armagh, where the crisps are still made beside Tandragee Castle. Source: Tayto (Northern Ireland)
- 1962 Cheese and onion in Britain Golden Wonder launches cheese and onion crisps in Britain. Source: Golden Wonder
- 1968 Tubes and Quavers Procter and Gamble launches Pringles in America, and Smiths launches Quavers, made from potato starch. Sources: Pringles, Quavers
- 1973 A ring for every finger KP launches Hula Hoops: short, hollow rings of potato and corn. Source: Hula Hoops
- 1977 The Prime Monster Smiths launches a corn snack shaped like a monster's foot, called The Prime Monster. A year later it is renamed Monster Munch. Source: Monster Munch
- 1988 Kettle comes to Norwich Kettle starts making crisps in Britain, in a converted shoe factory in Norwich. Source: Kettle Foods
- 2002 From a Herefordshire farm Farmer William Chase starts Tyrrells at Leominster in Herefordshire. Source: Tyrrells
- 2009 Are Pringles crisps? The Court of Appeal says yes, for VAT, overturning a 2008 High Court ruling that a snack only 42% potato was not a crisp. Source: Pringles
Read the label, not the packet front.
Every crisp page shows the ingredients with the allergens in bold, what the bag may contain, and the nutrition per 100g and per bag, from the published label for that barcode. Cheesy flavours often contain milk, some seasonings carry wheat or barley, and recipes change, so the pack in your hand has the final word.
- 126contain milk
- 83contain gluten
- 29contain soya
- 157list none of the 14 allergens in their ingredients
- 133may contain soya
- 110may contain gluten
- 100may contain milk
"May contain" is the maker's warning about the kitchen or the factory, not a listed ingredient. If an allergy matters, read the full label on the crisp's page and on the bag.
Things you did not know.
Five things worth knowing next time crisps come up at the pub. All checked, sources on each card.
The makers behind the bags.
One bag or the whole box?
The same crisp often comes in three or four sizes. Every one shows its price per 100g, so the bigger bag has to earn its place.
Every bag, priced per 100g.
A 25g lunchbox bag, a 150g sharing bag and a box of 22 cannot be compared by the price on the front. So every crisp here also shows what 100g costs, and every multipack what one bag works out at: on every crisp page, every shelf and every search.
- £7.86Sunbites Sweet Chilli Wholegrain Crisps, 28g per 100g
- £2.00Sunbites Sweet Chilli Wholegrain Crisps, 6 x 25g per 100g
Crisps by the box, for business.
Stocking a café, a pub, an office kitchen or a charity event? Or making crisps and want to sell them here? Start with the page that fits.
The science of the crunch.
Why crisps crunch, how the flavours get on, who fried the first bag, which ones are vegan, and the questions people actually type into search boxes about crisps. Free to read and written by us.
The first Crisp Wiki stories are being written and will appear here as they go live.
Crisp news and new arrivals
Nothing in the newsroom yet. Crisp news goes here when there is some.










